Follow Us! Like Our Page!

2014 Economic Development Lethbridge Board of Directors Announced

March 20, 2014

Lethbridge – The Board of Directors for Economic Development Lethbridge (EDL) is pleased to announce the 2014 Board as confirmed at the Annual General Meeting held on March 19.

The organization would like to welcome new Board President and Chair Kurt Schlachter. He represents the Regional Sector on the Board and is a partner with Stringam Denecky LLP. “I am looking forward to the work we will be doing to set the priorities for the organization for the next four years,” says Schlachter. “Through this planning we will continue to build partnerships like Team Lethbridge that allow us to leverage City funding into real results for our community.”

Walter Kalkan, outgoing president, has completed his four-year term and will remain on the Board as past-president to continue to support the organization in a non-voting role. “I am fortunate to have been a member of a board that is focused on effective economic development strategies that are timely, strategic and on track to serve Lethbridge and the surrounding region into the future,” says Kalkan.
Economic Development Lethbridge Board Members are drawn from a diverse cross section of the community with the intention to best accomplish the mandate and objectives of the organization. EDL Board members provide direction and proactive leadership that encourages private and public sectors to undertake programs and projects that promote and foster economic growth in the region.  The 2014 Board of Directors (in alphabetical order by sector) is:

Board Chair & Regional – Kurt Schlachter
Vice-Chair – Mayor Chris Spearman
Past President – Walter Kalkan
Aboriginal – Elizabeth Ferguson
Agriculture – Glenn Coulter*
Arts & Culture – Bryan Bradfield
Chamber of Commerce – Marc Sabourin
City of Lethbridge Councillor – Ryan Parker
City of Lethbridge Manager – Garth Sherwin
Commercial – Lorna Peacock*
Construction – Blayne Janssens
County / Airport – Reeve Lorne Hickey
Environment – Patty Vadnais
Finance – Dennis Chinner
Industrial – Bill Halley
Lethbridge College – Paula Burns
Multicultural – Frank Vuo
Not-for-Profit – Chuck Coulliard
Retail – Kevin Brees
Seniors – Mike Bennett
Service – Sarah Aimes
Sports & Recreation – Kim Gallucci
Technical / Research – Fergus Raphael
Tourism – Lindy Rollingson
Transportation – Dallas Sherwood*
University of Lethbridge – Doug Spoulos

* New Board Members



NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More