Follow Us! Like Our Page!

List of nominated candidates for Ordinary Members expected to be released Tuesday

Press Release

March 26, 2022

On behalf of the Nunatsiavut Elections Officer, the Nunatsiavut Government is advising Beneficiaries of the Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement that the list of nominated candidates for the May 3 general election for Ordinary Members to the Nunatsiavut Assembly is expected to be released this coming Tuesday, March 29.

Ordinary Members are chosen from the constituencies of Nain, Hopedale, Postville, Makkovik, Rigolet, Upper Lake Melville and Canada. Two seats are available in Nain, Upper Lake Melville and Canada, while one seat is available in all other constituencies. Nominations closed at 2 p.m. Atlantic Standard Time (AST) today.

Advance Polls will be on April 25.

Voting Rules and Regulations

  • Every Beneficiary 16 years of age and older on polling day is qualified to vote.
  • In order to vote in a polling station in a constituency, a Beneficiary must be an ordinary resident of that constituency.

For More Information contact:

Nannette Blake, Nunatsiavut Elections Officer
Telephone: 709-896-5222
E-mail: [email protected]


 276 total views,  4 views today

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More