Follow Us! Like Our Page!

Treaty Commission Congratulates Tla’amin on Final Agreement Signing Ceremony

March 17, 2014

VANCOUVER – Saturday, March 15 marked a historic day for the Tla’amin Nation as they hosted a powerful Final Agreement signing ceremony. The Tla’amin Final Agreement is the culmination of 20 years of hard work and negotiations and signals a new era of independence for the Tla’amin people.

The BC Treaty Commission was among those present in Powell River, BC for the signing ceremony. Commissioner Jerry Lampert emceed the event. Also present were his colleagues Commissioner Dan Smith and Director of Communications, Brenna Latimer.

The celebration took place at the old village of Tees Kwat. Numerous Tla’amin citizens attended. John Rustad, Minister of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation attended on behalf of the provincial government. Also attending were representatives of the federal government, the First Nations Summit, the BC Assembly of First Nations, and chiefs from neighboring First Nations.

“The Treaty Commission extends sincere congratulations to the three parties to the Tla’amin treaty negotiations. We were honored to be present on this significant day for the Tla’amin community,” said Commissioner Jerry Lampert who sits on the Tla’amin treaty table as commissioner.

The next step is for Tla’amin Chief Clint Williams to take the Final Agreement to Ottawa for signing by the federal Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development. It is expected that legislation will then be tabled for consideration by Parliament.

The Tla’amin Treaty officially takes effect on April 2, 2016. On the effective date, legal title of lands will be transferred to the Tla’amin Nation, as will financial components and law-making authority.

On the effective date, Tla’amin Nation will join the five Maa-nulth First Nations, Tsawwassen First Nation and Yale First Nation as the ninth First Nation in British Columbia with a modern treaty.

Chief Commissioner Sophie Pierre and the BC Treaty Commission extend warm wishes for a bright future of independence and success for the Tla’amin Nation.

BC Treaty Commission
Brenna Latimer
Director of Communications
[email protected]

About the BC Treaty Commission

The Treaty Commission is the independent body responsible for overseeing treaty negotiations among the governments of Canada, BC and First Nations in BC. It has three roles: facilitation, funding, and public information and education. Visit to learn more about the Treaty Commission.


 547 total views,  2 views today

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More