Follow Us! Like Our Page!

Nunatsiavut Government Calls Election for May 6th

For Immediate Release

Nunatsiavut Assembly to be dissolved April 1

Beneficiaries of the Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement will head to the polls on May 6, 2014 to elect Ordinary Members to the Nunatsiavut Assembly. The current Nunatsiavut Assembly will be dissolved effective April 1, 2014, President Sarah Leo announced today.

Nominations for candidates will close at 2 p.m. on April 2, 2014.

Ordinary Members, with the exception of the Speaker and those who serve on the Nunatsiavut Executive Council (ministers), will no longer hold office once the Assembly is dissolved.

The Speaker will continue to hold office until the election of a new Speaker at the start of the first Assembly session following the election. As well, current members of the Executive Council will continue to hold their ministerial portfolios until the First Minister is appointed during the same session. The First Minister nominates Ordinary Members for appointment as Ministers. The nominees must be approved by the Assembly before being appointed by the President.

Media Contact:

Bert Pomeroy, Director of Communications

(709) 896-8582


  • Chapter 4, Part 4.13, Section 4.13.1 of the Labrador Inuit Constitution states that the term for Ordinary Members begins the day on which the member is declared to be returned and ends with the dissolution of the Nunatsiavut Assembly.
  • Part 4, Section 28 of the Assembly Act states that the Speaker continues to hold office until the election of a new Speaker following a general election (first Assembly after election).
  • Chapter 5, Part 5.6, Sections 5.6.1 and 5.6.2 of the Labrador Inuit Constitution states that the dissolution of the Assembly does not affect the Nunatsiavut Executive Council. The NEC remains unchanged until the First Minister is appointed upon nomination at the first Assembly after the general election.


 580 total views,  4 views today

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More