Follow Us! Like Our Page!

Inspiration Updates Dewater Process

Yellowknife, Northwest Territories (May 26, 2014) – The Honourable Bernard Valcourt, Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development, issued the following statement today:

“I wish to extend my congratulations to the communities of the Acho Dene Koe First Nation and Fort Liard Métis, the Denínu Kų́ę́ First Nation and the Salt River First Nation for their decision to become parties to the Northwest Territories Lands and Resources Devolution Agreement.

The Northwest Territories Devolution Act, which came into force on April 1, 2014, was the final step required to fully implement the Devolution Agreement. It highlights our Government’s commitment, as set out in Canada’s Northern Strategy, to work with Northern and Aboriginal partners to build a strong and prosperous North.

These communities will join the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation, Northwest Territory Métis Nation, Sahtu Secretariat Incorporated, Gwich’in Tribal Council and Tłįchǫ Government as parties to the Devolution Agreement, along with the Governments of Canada and the Northwest Territories.

We will continue to work closely with our partners in the Northwest Territories to encourage other regional and local Aboriginal communities to become parties to the devolution agreement.

Devolution provides Northerners with greater control over their lands and resources and improved regulatory processes in the Northwest Territories. It also encourages investment in the Northwest Territories while ensuring that resource development proceeds in a sustainable fashion, so that the resulting economic benefits can be enjoyed by future generations.”

Associated Links



Erica Meekes
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development

Media Relations
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

Follow us on Twitter: @AANDCanada


Date Modified:



NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More